Joseph Rebman

Harpist and Composer

Instrumentation: Solo harp and orchestra

Written: Spring 2015 - Spring 2016

Duration: 23 min

Premiere: piano version premiered on Joseph Rebman AD harp recital, April 3rd 2016. Jing'er Xu, piano.

Also available: Twilight for solo harp, a stand-alone version of the third-movement cadenza.

Program Notes:

Hyperion is the god of light, one of the titans of Greek mythology. He had three children: Helios, god of the sun, Selene, goddess of the moon, and Eos, goddess of the dawn. Helios rides his chariot through the sky, bringing the day behind him. Selene does the same, bringing the night. Eos rises from the water, clearing the mist of the morning to make way for Helios.

This piece uses three main inspirations for each movement: The character of the gods (Helios, Selene, Eos), the items they represent (sun, moon, dawn), and common correlations with these items (heat and action of the day, chill and peace of the night, rebirth and resetting the cycle at dawn).

The harp is rarely used as a solo instrument. Throughout this work I explore the many facets of the harp in this unique setting, utilizing a wide array of extended techniques. These special sounds are meant to help the harp slide through all the different characters and roles in the narrative, breaking out of the “pretty and angelic” mold the harp is all too often stuck in.






Dance Suite    Elegy    Éros    Fire    He Would Not Stay    Hyperion    The Juniper Tree    Loose Control    Mnemosyne    Prana   Twilight

Site and all contents © Copyright 2011-2018 Joseph Rebman. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Squarespace